Corporations > Other Services > Amusement Rides

Quick Links

Register Online
Mail-in Form
Registration Fees
Visit the Calendar Page

Amusement Rides


If you are an amusement ride operator who intends to operate a ride in the state of Vermont, you must register proof of insurance for the intended rides with the Office of the Secretary of State and the Department of Labor. Please allow 7-10 business days for the processing of any filings received by mail.

 

Secretary of State Requirements

Whether filing online or by mail, you will need to submit the documentation listed below with your registration form:

  1. A Ride List that clearly states the name, serial number, capacity, speed, and description of motion or travel where applicable.
  2. A certificate of insurance which includes:
    • Legal name and address.
    • A minimum of $1,000,000 in coverage.
    • An effective period that covers the intended event being attended.
    • A Schedule of Rides that matches the serial numbers of the Ride List exactly.
    • The Vermont Secretary of State, 128 State Street, Montpelier, Vermont 05633-1104 listed as a certificate holder.
info

Your Certificate of Operation must be registered and approved by the Secretary of State at least 15 days before the amusement ride is first operated in Vermont. (31 V.S.A. § 722(b))

info

An operator or owner who operates without a Certificate of Operation may be fined up to $500.00 per day for each day the violation continues. (31 V.S.A. § 724)

For questions regarding Secretary of State requirements, please contact us.

 

Department of Labor Requirements

The Department of Labor has an interest in keeping your employees and the public safe. Please contact the Department of Labor to register proof of workers compensation insurance that is satisfactory to the state of Vermont. Please recognize that not all workers compensation policies from other states are approved by the state of Vermont.

For questions regarding Department of Labor requirements only, please contact: J. Stephen Monahan



Contact Information

Corporations & Business Services

Marlene Betit, Director

128 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05633

802-828-2386

888-647-4582

Service by Phone

7:45 AM to 4:30 PM

Monday - Friday (except holidays)

802-828-2386

888-647-4582 (toll free)

Walk-in Service

7:45 AM to 4:30 PM

Monday - Friday (except holidays)

128 State Street, Montpelier

Mailing Address

Vermont Secretary of State

Corporations Division

128 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05633-1104

________________________________

CLICK TO:

Request Copies & Certificates

Request Blank Forms

________________________________

For general inquiries, email:

SOS.CorporationsSupport@vermont.gov


Visit the Calendar Page:
event