## **Instructions for Applicants**

As of July 1, 2017, successful completion of this examination is required as one of the conditions for licensure in the State of Vermont.

- 1. Use the Answer Sheet to record your answers, return it along with your application, and keep a copy of the exam questions.
- 2. The Office will correct the exam and return the answer sheet to you noting items answered incorrectly.
- 3. If you had **more than** six incorrect answers, you need to review those questions and the Board's Laws and Rules to find the correct answer. You must resubmit the answer sheet with the changes noted in Red.
- 4. If you had **less than** six incorrect answers, we encourage you to review those questions and the Board's Laws and Rules to find the correct answer.

- 1. Title 26 Vermont Statutes Annotated (V.S.A.) Chapter 61 pertains to: 1) licensed masters social work; 2) psychotherapists 3) Licensed independent clinical social work; or 4) clinical mental health counselors:
  - a. All of the above
  - b. 1 and 3
  - c. 1, 2, and 3
  - d. None of the above
- 2. To renew a LMSW, the social worker shall show evidence during each renewal period of having completed:
  - a. 10 hours of continuing education
  - b. 20 hours of continuing education
  - c. 30 hours of continuing education
  - d. None of the above
- 3. To renew a LICSW, the social worker shall show evidence during each renewal period of having completed:
  - a. 10 hours of continuing education
  - b. 20 hours of continuing education
  - c. 30 hours of continuing education
  - d. None of the above
- 4. According to Vermont Statutes, how many individuals are appointed to serve as advisors in matters relating to licensed social workers?
  - a. One
  - b. Two
  - c. Three
  - d. None of the above
- 5. What degree level is required to be eligible for a licensed master's social work license?
  - a. Bachelors degree
  - b. Master's degree
  - c. Doctorate degree
  - d. None of the above

6.	For each instance of unprofessional conduct, the office may impose a civil penalty of up to: a. \$500.00 b. 1,000.00 c. 1,500.00 d. None of the above
7.	The current length of the appointment term for an advisor to the director is:
	<ul><li>a. Five years</li><li>b. Seven years</li><li>c. Three years</li><li>d. None of the above</li></ul>
8.	Which of the following is not a path to licensure: <ul><li>a. Examination</li><li>b. The 7 year rule</li><li>c. Endorsement</li><li>d. All of the above</li></ul>
9.	A licensee is responsible for notifying the office within days if he or she changes name, mailing address or business address.
	<ul><li>a. 15</li><li>b. 30</li><li>c. 45</li><li>d. All of the above</li></ul>
10	The Director of the Office of Professional Regulation has the power and duty to:
	<ul><li>a. Investigate all complaints and charges</li><li>b. Issue subpoenas and hold hearings</li><li>c. Employ legal counsel as necessary</li><li>d. All of the above</li></ul>
11	<ul> <li>The Director of the office is obligated to comply with the:</li> <li>a. Laws of professional regulation</li> <li>b. Right to know law</li> <li>c. Access to public records law</li> <li>d. All of the above</li> </ul>

- 12. It is considered unprofessional conduct to:
  - a. Practicing outside or beyond a licensee's education, training, experience, or competence;
  - b. Failing to use a correct title in professional activity
  - c. Practicing outside or beyond a licensee's education, training, experience, or competence;
  - d. All of the above
- 13. Post degree supervised practice is required for:
  - a. LICSW
  - b. LMSW
  - c. The roster
  - d. All of the above
- 14. Supervised practice must occur under a supervisor who has acquired:
  - a. 5,500 hours of licensed practice
  - b. 4,000 hours of licensed practice
  - c. 4,500 hours of licensed practice
  - d. All of the above
- 15. The director shall refer disciplinary matters to:
  - a. A board
  - b. An administrative law officer
  - c. State prosecutor
  - d. None of the above
- 16. The provisions in chapter 61 shall not apply to persons while engaged in:
  - a. The practice of a religious ministry
  - b. An employee under contract with the Agency of Human Services
  - c. A member of a self-help group such as Alcoholics Anonymous
  - d. All of the above

- 17. The Director may grant a license to practice as a licensed independent clinical social worker to a person licensed as an independent clinical social worker in another jurisdiction whose licensing requirements are deemed by the Director to be not substantially equivalent to those of this state if:
  - a. The applicant holds an active unencumbered license, and has no disciplinary history in any jurisdictions currently or previously licensed
  - b. The applicant has practiced for at least 1,200 hours per year for a minimum of five years
  - c. The applicant has successfully completed the Vermont jurisprudence examination.
  - d. All of the above
- 18. The Office of Professional Regulation is located in
  - a. Middlesex
  - b. Montpelier
  - c. Berlin
  - d. None of the above
- 19. LICSW and LMSW shall disclose to each client:
  - a. Professional qualifications
  - b. Information on filing a complaint
  - c. A copy of the statutory definitions of unprofessional conduct
  - d. All of the above
- 20. Licensees shall maintain evidence of continuing education for \_\_\_\_\_\_ years.
  - a. Two
  - b. Seven
  - c. Four
  - d. None of the above

Answer Sheet - Circle the Correct Answer

- 1) A B C D
- 17) A B C D
- 2) A B C D
- 18) A B C D
- 3) A B C D
- 19) A B C D
- 4) A B C D
- 20) A B C D
- 5) A B C D
- 6) A B C D
- 7) A B C D
- 8) A B C D
- 9) A B C D
- 10) A B C D
- 11) A B C D
- 12) A B C D
- 13) A B C D
- 14) A B C D
- 15) A B C D
- 16) A B C D